15.THE FORGOTTEN INDUSTRIES OF MAGALANG



Magalang before and after was blessed with rich natural resources. That's why our ancestors utilized it; to become productive and will become part of one of the important industries of our town. In this post, i will identified some forgotten industries in Magalang, with their unique products that cannot match its quality. The reasons of the gradual loss, forgotten or extinction of these industries is due to continuous degradation of our natural resources, economic modernization and agricultural mechanization. Interestingly, a report in 1819 was written by the Spanish chief engineer, Yldefonso de Aragon entitled, Descripcion Geografica y Topografica de la Ysla de Luzon o Nueva Castilla tells about the land areas and demarcation of each towns in Luzon, particularly in Pampanga. It also included in the report are the existing industries in each towns. Pampanga that time has extended territory in which later become part of present provinces of Nueva Ecija and Tarlac. Aragon stated his report about Magalan, and according to him, aside from thriving agricultural sector particularly in rice and sugarcane, there is already existing liquor and weaving industries due to abundance of famous Buri palms (ebus in Kapampangan). Buri palms in Magalang are abundant, and they are found along the riverbanks of Rio Chico river. As stated by Aragon, these are the industries that are been flourished due to the abundance of Buri palms:

Wine Making- according to Tantingco, Magaleños took advantage of the buri palms lining the rivers by extracting the juice and turning into Tuba. Aragon also stated that aside from Tuba, other spirits like wine, a type of schnapp called aguardiente and another type of liquor known as mistela are also made from buri palm juice. When tuba was fermented, it will became a fragrant vinegar.

Weaving- due to wide and fan-like leaves of buri palms, Magaleños were able to weave mats and other handicrafts out from Buri palm leaves. Its leaves are also suitable for making roofs for houses and other buildings.

Aside from wine making and weaving, Magaleños were able to create other products out from buri palms. One of them is brown sugar made from the palms whom Aragon called Chancaca sugar. It also included in the list, was flour or starch processing; the trunk of the buri palm known as ubod was processed and made into flour called sago or also known as Yoro. Ubod was also an ingredient used in salads and other dishes.

The buri palm forests are located in the vast Pamabaran forest reservation. This reservation was located in the quad boundaries of San Antonio and Cabiao in Nueva Ecija, Concepcion, Tarlac and Magalang particularly in barrio Escaler. It was declared as timberland by Acting Governor General Eugene Allen Gilmore in 1927. In 1936, it was declared as protected area by President Manuel L. Quezon to protect and regulate the cutting of Buri palms and to regulate the floods along Rio Chico river. However, due to deforestation, buri palms were gradually reduce its population. When Mt. Pinatubo erupted in 1991, the remaining buri forests in Concepcion and Magalang sides were totally washed out by rampaging lahar flows.

Aside from industries and skills due to abundance of buri palms, there are other forgotten industries in Magalang listed below:

Dyeing- Aragon stated that añil (Spanish word for indigo) was used in Magalang to dye their clothes in special occasions.

Tobacco- this industry was one of the lucrative industries in Magalang and also in Pampanga. It was further flourished when the agricultural experiment station, La Granja Modelo de Luzon (present Pampanga State Agricultural University) conducted a vast experimentation of tobacco. It was earned recognition when it was exhibited in Exposicion General de Islas Filipinas held in Madrid, Spain where La Granja received the highest diploma honor.

Cart making- due to absence of navigable rivers in Magalang, carts (or gareta) are one of the modes of transportation of Magaleños at that time. According to Anuario del Comercio, two Magaleños are the leading constructor de carruajes or cart makers at that time, Victoriano Pingul and Vicente Naguit. During the American period, demands in carts increased due to agricultural progress. In that time, two Mageleños were known also in industry, Feliciano Samson and Eusebio Aquino. Later, Eusebio Aquino will become one of the founders of Hukbalahap and become second ranking officer of the movement. When the gradual agricultural modernization and mechanization took place, this industry gradually died out.

Saddle making- horses was one of the leading farm animals in Magalang during that time. And due to cross breeding success of horses of La Granja Modelo de Luzon, the population of horses increased. Anuario del Comercio also stated that there is talabartero or saddle maker from Magalang, Alfonso Felix.

Photo Credit: darwinonline.org.uk

Sources: Aragon, Yldefonso, Descripcion Geografica y Topografica de la Ysla de Luzon o Nueva Castilla, En La Imprenta de D. Manuel Menije por D. Anastacio Gonzaga, Manila, 1819 page 36.

Bartolo, Louie Aldrin L and Dizon, Lino L., The Magalang Book: The Historical Life and Culture of a Kapampangan Town (1605-2013); National Commission for Culture and the Arts, Manila, 2016 pages 27, 34, 58 and 60.

Tantingco, Robby P., 7 Lost Kapampangan Skills: tl.ph.facebook.com/notes/robby-tantingco/7-lost-kapampangan-skills: retrieved: November 27, 2016.




14.LA GRANJA MODELO DE LUZON'S PRICED PRODUCTS AT 1887 EXPOSICION FILIPINA


Exposicion General de las Islas Filipinas was held in Madrid, Spain in 1887. The exposicion aims to showcase the different native products and masterpieces of Filipinos. Their products are exhibited in the zoological garden of Madrid. This exposicion where some famous Filipinos earned their recognition for their contributions in different fields. One of them is the Filipino painter, Juan Luna who awarded diploma honor for his masterpieces, Charing, Isla de Guideca and Muerte de Cleopratra. Another Filipino painter, Felix Resureccion Hidalgo earned medalla de oro for his masterpiece. La Barca de Aqueronte. And also in the list, is the Filipino author and labor leader, Isabelo de los Reyes, earned medalla de plata for his selection, Folklore Filipina. The exposicion earned praises from Spanish colonial government for its success however, there are some flaws that mirrored the abuses committed by the Spaniards to Filipinos. One of the examples is the exhibit of Igorots; whom provoked Dr, Jose P. Rizal to condemn the exhibit. He said, "let the Philippines forget that her sons have been treated like this; to be exhibited and ridiculed". Pampanga's, priced products are also exhibited in the exposicion. Their exhibits were far ranging, from agricultural products, woodcraft and other products. It also included in the exhibit are the skeletal remains and craniums of deceased Aetas from Porac and nearby province of Bataan

One of the most fascinating exhibit that i've seen in the catalogo of the exposicion is the agricultural products of the experiment station, La Granja Modelo de Luzon, an experiment station who is under the Spanish colonial government institution, La Comision Agronomica de Islas Filipinas. After the transfer of the experiment station from San Isidro, Nueva Ecija to the foothills of Mt. Arayat in Magalang in 1885, La Granja earned its early successes in the fields of agriculture in the said exposicion. The lists of its products exhibited in the exposicion are listed in Catalogo de la Exposicion General de las Islas Filipinas:

Añil (indigo), fruto del algonodero (cotton), dahon, palay, aceite de semilla de algodon, (cottonseed oil), aceite de semilla de coco (coconut oil), aceite de semilla de ajonjoli, (sesame oil), aceite de semilla de trementina (turpentine oil), palay, twenty eight samples, mongos, five samples, azucar (sugar), fourteen samples, algodon (cotton), four samples, semilla de algodon (cotton seeds), three samples, maiz (corn), two samples, tabaco en rama (raw tobacco leaves), eleven samples and two classes of tierras (soil). 

Tabaco (tobacco), from the province of Pampanga, with three samples in exhibit; classified with in exhibit numbers 1, 2 and 3. Maiz (corn) zea maiz harvested in Pampanga with different classes. Included also in the exhibit is the plano (plan) for the occupation and cultivation of land in La Granja. 

After the exposicion, La Granja Modelo de Luzon, earned diploma honor in the fields of agriculture. That award gave honor to the institution that become the catalyst of the agricultural development not in Magalang, but also in the whole Philippines. After many years, La Granja developed further its capabilities and expertise in the field of agriculture. This Spanish institution will become the present Pampanga State Agricultural University, one of the respected agricultural universities in the Philippines. 

Sources: Catalogo de la Exposicion General de las Islas Filipinas, Est. Tipografico de Ricardo Fe Madrid, España, 1887  pages 410, 421 and 478.

Photo Credit: http://www.bne.es/es/Micrositios/Exposiciones/Rizal/Exposicion










13.FAMOUS MAGALENO FAMILIES OUTSIDE MAGALANG I: NARCISOS

Consuelo Narciso Nunag (standing)
Josefa Paz Narciso del Rosario (sitting, left)
Mercedes Narciso Tayag (sitting, below right)

Narcisos are one of the prominent families in neighboring city of Angeles. Narcisos are famous in the fields of trade and commerce, health industry and education sector. But, did you know that Narcisos are also have Magaleño blood? Some Magaleño old timers are very familiar with Narcisos due to its connections to our town Magalang. Their family history traced back to the spouses, Luis Amirante Narciso and Maxima Suarez Lacson. Both of them are born in Angeles but when Maxima was still young, she was brought by her parents, Cristobal Lacson, who was a former gobernadorcillo of Angeles, and Agustina Suarez to their new land they cleared in Magalang. Maxima was second eldest among the children of Cristobal to his second wife, Agustina. His younger brothers, Manuel, Aniceto and Anacleto were later served as gobernardorcillos of Magalang. while Pablo will later serve as gobernadorcillo accidental (acting mayor) of Angeles and later, as juez de paz of Magalang. 

Luis and Maxima got married and they settled in barrio Bical in Mabalacat. Bical in that time, was one of the lands that Maxima's father, Cristobal cleared and become part of his landholdings. Both of them inherited their land after Cristobal died. They were become industrious until they achieved as one of the richest landowners of Bical and also of Mabalacat. Luis served gobernadorcillo of Mabalacat in several terms. The couple bore three children, Ludovico, Petra and Maria Magdalena. Ludovico initially served as cabeza de barangay when he was only twenty four years old and he rose his prominence as one of the prominent members of Mabalacat principalia. Later, he served as gobernadorcillo of Mabalacat and first municipal president of Mabalacat when Americans occupied the town. 

Ludovico married his relative, Gregoria Lacson of Angeles on November 23, 1880. Their wedding sponsors are Aniceto Lacson and Raymunda Lacson; Ludovico's mother Maxima younger siblings. Their marriage produced fourteen children; Pedro, a doctor married Camila de Liza, Felicidad married Marcos Lumanlan, Arsenio married his first cousin, Rosario Miranda and after her death, he married Ines Santos, Alfredo I, Juan Crisostomo married a beautiful pharmacist from Arayat, Esperanza Aliwalas, Jose Pedro married Josefa Mendiola, Ceferino married Africa Mesina, Edilberto married Maura Suarez, Consuelo married Eugenio Nunag, Josefa Paz Narciso-del Rosario, Angelina, Alfredo II, married Agustina Pabalan of Sta Ana, Manuel married Joaquina Ganzon and Mercedes married Dr. Jose Tayag. After Gregoria's death in 1912, Ludovico married Antonina Naguit and they bore four children, Leonila Hospicia, Luis, an architect married Josefa Fredeswinda Henson, Gerardo, a doctor married Amparo Brodett and Modesto married Remedios Vargas. Ludovico had children out of wedlock to Claudia Reyes; Felisa, married Agapito Marucut, Isaias and Galicano. 

Ludovico's sister Petra married Pedro Paras of Culubasa, Mexico and they settled in barrio Dapdap in Mabalacat. After the war, they settled permanently in Dau, also in Mabalacat. Their marriage produced seven children; Ramon married Rosa Cabigting, Alejandra married Dominador Quiazon, Federico Andres married Maria Reyes, Jose Gonzalo, Maria Trinidad, Alfredo and Mercedes, married her second cousin, Manuel Urquico. 

Ludovico's younger sister Maria Magdalena, married Felipe Miranda, a son of a small landowner in Bical. Their marriage produced five children, Maria Rosario married her first cousin, Arsenio Narciso, Ricardo Felipe, Maria Consuelo, Conrado Horacio married Amparo Gueco and Maria Patrocinio. 

According to some accounts, Narcisos tends to have connections with their relatives in Magalang, especially when they introduce their expertise music education and health services. One of the best examples is Purita Narciso, daughter of Arsenio Narciso and Rosario Miranda. Before the war, she lived in old Feliciano mansion in barrio San Pedro whom it was owned by her aunt, Maria Paras de Feliciano, a daughter of Raymunda Lacson, younger sister of Purita's grandmother Maxima. At that time, she taught piano lessons. She also conducting piano recitals to show the showcase of her talents in playing piano. When war broke out, almost all of Narcisos leaved Angeles to escape the atrocities of the Japanese, and they settled in Feliciano mansion. Some of their family members, together with other evacuees served the Magaleños by distributing medical and relief services to families affected by the war. The last Nariciso who lived in Magalang is Ludovico's younger son, Dr. Gerardo Narciso. He chose to practice his medical profession in Magalang in early 50s up to late 60s. At that time, he was one of the famous doctors in Magalang. 

At present, Narcisos are famous in the fields of health industry, trade and commerce, religion, music and other fields of profession. One of the best examples of Narcisos, is Fr. Tarcisio Maria H. Narciso, OSB, who is former abbot of Our Lady of Monserrat abbey of the Benedictine order, his sister Fredeswinda Narciso Bauzon, was the former high school principal of Holy Angel University, and another brother, Architect Teodoro Narciso, corporate lawyer Atty. Edilberto S. Narciso, Jr., Filonila Tayag Lansang, owner of Batis Azul and musician, Conrado Titus N. del Rosario.

Photo Credit: Consuelo Narciso-Nunag (standing), Josefa Paz Narciso-del Rosario, (sitting left) and Mercedes Narciso-Tayag (sitting below): Angeles University Foundation; Institute of Kapampangan Studies.   

12. DECEMBER 13 OR APRIL 30? THE TWO IMPORTANT DATES OF MAGALANG



Plaza de la Libertad circa 1963
Since we launched the Magalang Book and this blog, the aims of the book and the blog is not only to promote, inform and educate about the rich local history of Magalang, but also it will promote the historical corrections to our local history. Before we launched this two, we noticed that there are so many historical facts about the town are incorrect, forgotten or unwritten by past studies. One of this is the Magalang's foundation date. Here are some bits of explanation regarding the two foundation dates of Magalang:

APRIL 30, 1605- when Augustinians organized pueblos or towns in Pampanga, one of their mechanisms imposed during the pacification of Pampanga is the reduccion system. In this system, all of the fragmented barangays were abolished and their inhabitants were forced to live near to their missions or within the sounds of the church bells or so called bajo de la campana. Magalang was one of the products of reduccion system. When the Augustinian chapter accepted Magalang in April 30, 1605, it was formally organized as pueblo or town placing all the natives under the organized town of Magalo, (old name of Magalang) and its town proper was located in Macapsa. The town is under the administration of the Augustinians and it was placed under the patronage of San Bartolome Apostol. Fr. Gonzalo de Salazar was appointed first pastor. However, Magalang during that time has large vast territory. The former territories of Magalang which includes the present city of Mabalacat, towns of Concepcion, Capas and Bamban and city of Tarlac all located in Tarlac province. Fr. Gaspar de San Agustin noted that some parts of Zambales mountains and the province are also former territories of Magalang. Mabalacat including Bamban and Capas were seperated from Magalang in 1680; but in 1712, they were turned over to the Augustinian Recollects due to underdevelopment. In 1686, Magalang's territory was reduced again when Tarlac was seperated from Magalang. Magalang was transferred to San Bartolome in 1734 due to natural calamities and series of revolts. Its territory was composed of the present towns of Concepcion and Magalang. In 1858, a Royal Decree was promulgated to establish the town of Concepcion, covering the barrios in the northern bank of Parua River. However, in that same year when a large flood struck the town. It was only in 1863 when Concepcion was formally created, and Magalang once again transferred its town proper from San Bartolome to San Pedro Talimunduc. Thus its former town proper, San Bartolome earned its place name as balen melacuan or forsaken town

DECEMBER 13, 1863- when the large flood struck Magalang once again, a disagreement rose on the members of the principalia.  The disagreement was ended when Pampanga alcalde mayor Ramon Barroeta issued a decree on December 13, 1863, it formally transferred the town from barrio San Bartolome to San Pedro Talimunduc and laid the foundations of the new town of Concepcion. When Concepcion was created, it is still depending on Magalang's political and religious affairs. That's why in that time, Fr. Ignacio Manzanares, OSA who facilitated the town's transfer was the parish priest of Magalang, and also of Concepcion. Pablo M. Luciano served as gobernadorcillo of Magalang that time, but his authority was still extended to Concepcion. Until 1864, when Concepcion was politically separated; and in 1866, when Concepcion established its own parish. The concept of celebrating this date was only conceived in 1954. The basis of this celebration concept is the Historical and Cultural Life of the Municipality of Magalang in the Province of Pampanga, written in 1954This write up is an example of Historical Data Papers or HDPs, written by the public school teachers to write the local history of their towns and their barrios way back 1950s. However, due to lack of primary and secondary sources especially archival resources, they only depended on interviews and oral accounts of different prominent persons in Magalang without credible evidences and sources. HDPs are also used as political tool to give emphasis on local personalities or even their families who may appear important but actually are not. HDPs are not regarded by most historians due to lack of documentation and credible sources. The copies of Magalang HDP is still intact in the National Library of the Philippines and even in the school library of Magalang Elementary School. Without historical verification, research or study regarding this date, "Magalang Day" or "Aldo ning Magalang" was formally commemorated. Former president Ramon Magsaysay eventually signed Proclaimation No. 98 series 1954 declaring December 13 as special public holiday in Magalang. It was signed in December 4, 1954. By then, Magalang started to celebrate its "Foundation" day. This date of commemoration was further strengthened when former president Ferdinand E. Marcos signed Proclaimation No. 1805 series 1978 on November 23, 1978 declaring December 13 of every year as "Foundation day" of Magalang. The basis of this proclaimation was based again on HDPs; and the first sentence of this proclaimation stated that town of Magalang, Pampanga was "founded" on December 13, 1863. Until present, this proclaimation was still in effect; thus the town still celebrating this date as their "foundation" day.  It is only an act of Congress or another presidential proclamation issuance will supersede the existing proclamation, if they will wish to change the existing "foundation" date. 

We must remember that Magalang is one of the oldest towns in Pampanga. After the transfer of the town in December 13, 1863, it continued its existence as the original town of Magalang when it was established since April 30, 1605. It took only changes in regards of territory and jurisdiction. But, it didn't changed its political, economic and religious status which possessed the town since it was established in April 30, 1605. Commemoration of foundations of the towns is very important to every towns in Pampanga to showcase their historical and cultural treasures but, the date of the commemoration must be historically correct and must be follow religiously.

It is up now to the Magaleños to judge of what is the exact date will be commemorated; and to be folllow as the true foundation date of Magalang.    

Photo Credit: Capagmasusian Qng Aldo Pangasilang Ning Magalang, 1963

Sources:

Apilado, Digna B. 1999, History from the People; Kasaysayan Mula sa Bayan, Proceedings of the 1998 Centennial Regional Seminar-Workshop Series on Oral and Local History; Volume 16, National Historical Institute and Philippine National Historical Society, Paperchase Printing Services, Quezon City, page 104.

Bartolo, Louie Aldrin L., and Dizon Lino L.,2016, The Magalang Book; The Historical Life and Culture of a Kapampangan Town (1605-2015); National Commission for Culture and the Arts, Manila, page 23.

Dizon Lino L., 2008, Alaya, Kapampangan Research Journal; Juan D. Nepomuceno Center of Kapampangan Studies, Holy Angel University, Angeles City, page 28.

San Agustin, Fr. Gaspar, Conquistas de la Islas Filipinas 1565-1615, San Agustin Museum, Intramuros, Manila pages 1051, 1099-1100. 

11.AMERICAN OFFICERS WHO SHAPED THE MAGALANG REVOLUTIONARY SCENE

American Units in Unknown Place
Magalang was one of the towns in Pampanga become strongholds of Filipino revolutionaries. One particular reason is the proximity to Mt. Arayat; whom the revolutionaries built their headquarters there especially in historic Camansi. Since the Philippine-American war broke, Americans captured Luzon inch by inch until they reached Pampanga. When Americans captured Angeles and San Fernando, their eyes are pointed out in Magalang. The Kapampangan general, Major General Servillano Aquino set up his defenses in Magalang against the invading Americans. But on November 5, 1899, Americans captured Magalang; General Aquino escaped from his looming capture; later, he ran to Tarlac. After the fall of Tarlac, General Aquino together with his remaining forces, they hid once again in their former fortifications in Camansi. General Aquino didn't give up his resistance despite his comrades are already surrendered to Americans. His fate was happened on May 18, 1901, Americans marched into Camansi and they captured General Aquino. Later, he was sentenced to "hard labor for the remainder of his life", however, he was granted pardon in 1904.

Forty two years after the capture of Magalang by the Americans, the Japanese successfully captured Magalang in January 1, 1942. Then, the guerrilla movement, Hukbalahap was also founded in the same year, and they set up once again their major bases of operations in Camansi in Mt. Arayat. After the fall of Bataan, the combined Filipino-American forces suffered brutalities done by the Japanese. Many of them died in starvation, thirst, sickness and harsh maltreatment. Luckily, some of the American officers escaped and they formed guerrilla units to continue the resistance against the Japanese. Some of them found their sanctuary in Magalang. Incidentally, the second ranking Hukbalahap officer based on Camansi  is also an Aquino. The Magaleño socialist, Eusebio Aquino, or fondly known him as Tatang Bio, Apung Bio or Commander Bio, took care of American officers who sought his sanctuary to escaped from advancing Japanese units. Eusebio Aquino is an old blacksmith who has shop in barrio San Nicolas beside the Pasudeco station. Tatang Bio is also nephew of Major General Servillano Aquino whom he stayed in Camansi before he was captured by the Americans.  Because of his squadrons spread across Magalang, Japanese were unable to capture the whole town itself. Hukbalahaps secured Magalang before the Americans arrived in the town; until it was fully liberated in January 27, 1945.

In this article, here are some famous American military officers who reshaped and give color to the revolutionary scene of Magalang.

MAJOR GENERAL ARTHUR MACARTHUR, JR.- this high ranking officer fondly called him as the "Boy Colonel". After he captured San Fernando, he ordered his large force composed of 4th Cavalry, to march to Magalang from its base in Calulut. He fought fierce battle in barrio San Jose, resulting heavy casualties among Filipino troops. He commanded the major battle against Filipino forces encamped in San Bartolome Church, resulting considerable loss to Filipino force. He also ordered the looting and burning of houses around the town proper. He fought the last position of General Aquino in Masapinit and he successfully captured it. After the capture of Magalang, he proceed to nearby town of Mabalacat. After his military successes around Luzon, he was appointed as the Military Governor of the Philippines. His military supremacy was inherited by his famous son, General Douglas MacArthur, who liberated the Philippines in 1945.

COLONEL JACOB HURD SMITH- this celebrated American officer also known as the "Howling Jake". After the capture of Angeles, he was ordered by his commander, General MacArthur to marched out from Angeles with his large force consists of 17th Infantry, 1st Artillery and Signal Corps to joined him in barrio San Jose to capture Magalang. He fought fierce battles in barrios San Francisco and San Pedro who inflicted losses to revolutionary forces. He also participated in the capture of San Bartolome Church in November 5, 1899. After his stint in Magalang, he was appointed military governor of Pangasinan, Tarlac and Zambales. His vague popularity rose when he ordered his forces to kill and burn the town of Balangiga in Samar. This attack famously known as the Balangiga Massacre. He found guilty by the court martial in relation of the massacre and he was sentenced to be "admonished by the reviewing authority".

BRIGADIER GENERAL FREDERICK DENT GRANT- this American officer was the son of the United States Civil War hero, and former President of the United States, Ulysses Grant. He was assigned in Magalang to led an expedition in Mt. Arayat to fought the remaining forces of General Aquino in December 26- 31, 1900. He implicated heavy losses upon the Filipino forces and they captured valuable documents. After successive attempts to capture General Servillano Aquino, he successfully captured him on May 18, 1901, making General Aquino as one of the remaining Filipino officers who fought against the Americans; after the capture of President Emilio Aguinaldo in Palanan, Isabela on March 23, 1901.

JULIUS ARNOLD- a black American military musician who belonged to all black American 25th Infantry, also known as the Buffalo soldiers. On January 15, 1900; Arnold attempted to rape a Magaleña, Leonora Salas. But Salas resisted the rape attempt, and Arnold shot her using his service pistol and later died. In 1902, he was found guilty by court martial, and he was sentenced to life imprisonment, dismissal from military service and his salary and benefits were forfeited.

RUSSELL W. VOLCKMANN- an American captain assigned in 11th Infantry together with Major Helmert Duisterhof. His forces was composed of Igorot troops and set up defenses in barrio San Antonio in Magalang. They successfully inflicted heavy losses upon invading Japanese forces, but due to overstretched of war material and personnel, they forced to withdraw from Magalang in January 1, 1942; and the town itself fell on Japanese on the same day. He escaped from Japanese together with his friend, Captain Donald Blackburn and they found sanctuary in Camansi in Mt. Arayat. They welcomed by Eusebio Aquino, a Magaleño and second commanding officer of Hukbalahap. Commander Bio took care of them and he offered Volckmann to become military adviser of Hukbalahap; but he declined. After their brief stay, he and Blackburn reached Northern Luzon and they resumed the command of United States Army Forces in the Philippines- Northern Luzon (USAFIP-NL) one of the largest guerrilla force in Northern Luzon; who helped the American forces to contain the Japanese forces in Northern Luzon led by General Tomoyuki Yamashita. After their fierce resistance, Yamashita surrendered in September 2, 1945. After the war, he and another guerrilla leader, Wendell Fertig formulated the doctrine of the unconventional warfare of the new US Army Special Forces (Green Berets) whom later he was acknowledged as one of the founders of US Army Special Forces.

DONALD BLACKBURN- an American captain and friend of Capt. Russell W. Volckmann. They evaded Japanese capture and they went in Camansi in Mt. Arayat. He and Volckmann was welcomed by Eusebio Aquino and after they brief stay, they went to Northern Luzon to resume command of United States Army Forces in the Philippines- Northern Luzon (USAFIP-NL). He was known for his exploits during the war; remained unknown in general public. After the war, he was appointed commander of Studies and Observation Group of the US Army based in Vietnam.

Source: Bartolo, Louie Aldrin L. and Dizon, Lino L. The Magalang Book, The Historical Life and Culture of a Kapampangan Town (1605-2015)

Photo Credit: http://www.riskplaywin.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/press-release.jpg


10.EL ILUSTRADO DE MAGALENO: FAMILIA LUCIANO

Don Pablo M. Luciano

Luciano family is one of the prominent families of Magalang. They are known for owning vast tracts of land in the town proper; which makes up to the present upscale subdivision of Marbea; they also owned vast tracts of land in barrio San Pablo stretching to barrio San Agustin. They have also large tracts of land in Balitucan in barrio San Ildefonso. Their popularity stretches from the political, religious and commerce and also to the fields of sports and showbiz industry. Lucianos traced their lineage back to the couple of Faustino David Luciano and Silvina Dizon David. Faustino was born in Arayat to Benedicto Luciano and Benedicta David. Silvina was born in Magalang in which the town proper was located in San Bartolome at that time. Her parents are Alejandro David, served gobernadorcillo of Magalang and Martina Dizon. Silvina has a brother, Juan who served as gobernadorcillo of Magalang in 1858 and he was the patriarch of the present Samson families of Magalang. Faustino and Silvina married in 1838 in Arayat; and their marriage produced four children; Pablo, Felipe, Anastacia and Natalia. Later, Faustino was appointed gobernardorcillo of Magalang in 1842.

In 1863, Magalang experienced a disastrous tragedy that Magaleños will never forget. Parua river was overflowed and engulfed the whole town proper. Some of the old residents' lives perished, properties destroyed, and everybody greatly affected. Old residents of San Bartolome disagreed about the transfer of the town proper. Faustino's son Pablo was appointed as gobernadorcillo of Magalang in that time; and the issue of transfer was never been settled. Aquino, Quiambao and Pineda families proposed the transfer of the town from San Bartolome to the northern barrio of Matondo, while the parish priest, Fr. Ignacio Manzanares, OSA proposed the transfer of the town to San Pedro Talimunduc in the foothills of Mt. Arayat; which cleared earlier by the residents from Angeles led by Cristobal Lacson. To solve the disagreement, Alcalde Mayor Ramon Barroeta issued an order on December 13, 1863 to transfer the town from San Bartolome to San Pedro Talimunduc. He also laid out the foundations of a new town bordering Parua river on the north, later it will become the new town of Concepcion. Fr. Ignacio Manzanares, OSA led the transfer together with Pablo and his family; with Suing, Cortes, Dizon and David families joined them. Fr. Manzanares successfully transferred the town proper with the old residents of San Pedro Talimunduc welcomed them.

Pablo served as gobernadorcillo of Magalang until 1864; the last gobernadocillo of the whole Magalang (together with Concepcion). He served once again as gobernadorcillo in 1881, but he resigned due to health reasons. He became the first juez de paz of Magalang in 1886. Pablo married Antonia Lazatin of Mabalacat and they bore five children; Eugenia, Andres, Jose, Ricardo and Pablo. Eugenia married Juan Feliciano; Andres, a doctor and served as assemblyman in Philippine Assembly in 1912 married thrice, his first wife, Maria Luisa Luciano, his second wife is Beatriz Feliciano and third and last wife is Antonina Lising. Jose married Aurelia Gonzales Magdañgal; Ricardo married thrice, his first wife is Gregoria David of Angeles, second is to Maria Garcia and lastly to Severina Pamintuan; and Pablo married his first cousin Rosalina Dizon Luciano.

Felipe was appointed as teniente mayor of Magalang in 1885. Felipe married Luisa Yutuc; and their marriage bore five children; Antonio, Miguela, Ceferina, Graciana and Maria Luisa. Antonio served as municipal president of Magalang in 1923, married thrice, he married to Juana Trinidad, second is to Rosa Dizon Dalusung and lastly to Nicolasa Sanchez Quizon, a school teacher; Ceferina married Alfonso Manaloto and Maria Luisa married his first cousin, Dr. Andres J. Luciano; both Miguela and Graciana remained single for the rest of their lives. After Luisa died, Felipe married Juana Dizon and they bore only child, Rosalina, married to his first cousin, Pablo A. Luciano. They had only child, Orocia Carina Luciano who married to Dr. Pastor Magbag. 

The famous present generation of the Lucianos are, Victor Jose I. Luciano, former president of Clark International Airport Authority, basketball player and coach, Ed Ocampo, and the veteran film actress, Liza Lorena and his son, actor Tonton Gutierrez.

Photo Credit: Pablo M. Luciano; Capagmasusian Qng Aldo Pangasilang ning Magalang, Diciembre 28-29, 1963

9.MAGALANG ACCORDING TO ANUARIO DEL COMERCIO



Since its establishment of Magalang in April 30, 1605; the primary industry of the town is agriculture. Magalang's agricultural lands is devoted to rice and sugarcane. A small plantation of tobacco is planted in the the experiment station; La Granja Modelo de Luzon (now the Pampanga State Agricultural University). After the recovery of the town since its transfer from San Bartolome to San Pedro Talimunduc in 1863, the agriculture sector becomes thriving and small industries was established. During that time, a Spanish magazine, Anuario del Comercio published the lists of prominent persons in fields of agriculture, commerce and industry, local and religious leaders and even professionals in every provinces in Spain, including in the Philippines. Anuario del Comercio's publication started in 1881 and ended in 1911. The magazine provided the interesting details about Magalang's prominent persons in different fields. Here is the partial lists of prominent Magaleños according to Anuario del Comercio:


In 1886 Anuario del Comercio, the Juez de Paz of Magalang isPablo M. Luciano, parish priest, Fr. Fernando Vasquez, OSA, student with a degree of Colegio de Segunda Enseñanza, Tomas Gamboa and Commerciantes (native and Spanish merchants): Vicente Blanco, Vicente Gonzalez, Basilio Moreno, Santiago Store and Carlos Vega. 

In 1893 Anuario del Comercio, the capitan municipal is Manuel C. Gueco, juez de paz, Teopisto S. Ganzon, fiscal, Inocencio Espanol, estafeta de correo (post master), Raymundo Feliciano, director of La Granja Modelo de Luzon, Enrique Rodriguez de Celis, parish priest, Fr. Toribio Fanjul, OSA, Instruccion Publica (teachers); Profesor Serapion Carreon and Profesora Candida Ordoñez, cosecheros de azucar y palay (prominent rice and sugar planters), Pablo M. David, Ladislao C. Dayrit, Tomas Dizon, Juan P. Feliciano, Teopisto S. Ganzon, Daniel O. Lacson, Antonio Y. Luciano, Pablo M. Luciano, and Cirilo Tiamzon. constructor de carruajes (cart makers), Victoriano Pingul, comerciantes, Enrique Baluyut Sr., Lorenzo Ruano and Carlos Vega, farmaceutico (pharmacist), Bernardo Duesphy and talabartero (horse saddle maker), Florentino Felix. 

In 1896 Anuario del Comercio, the capitan municipal is Paulino C. Gueco, juez de paz, Pablo S. Lacson, fiscal, Inocencio Espanol, director of La Granja Modelo de Luzon, Enrique Rodriguez de Celis, parish priest, Fr. Jose Rodriguez Prada, OSA, Instruccion Publica, Profesor Serapion Carreon and Profesora Paula Rodriguez, cosecheros de azucar y palay (prominent rice and sugar planters), Faustina Baron and his sister, Silvestra Baron, Pablo M. David, Ladislao C. Dayrit, Tomas Dizon, Raymundo Feliciano, Teopisto S. Ganzon, Agustina Gueco de Tumang and his siblings, Gregorio C. Gueco, Manuel C. Gueco, Paulino C. Gueco, and Vicenta Gueco de Gantioqui; Aniceto S. Lacson, Daniel O. Lacson, Antonio Y. Luciano, Pablo M. Luciano and Cirilo Tiamzon; constructor de carruajes (cart makers), Vicente Naguit and Victoriano Pingul, comerciante, Enrique Baluyut Sr., farmaceutico (pharmacist), Bernardo Duesphy and talabartero (horse saddle maker), Alfonso Felix.

Anuario del Comercio proved that Magalang was the one of the emerging agricultural towns during Spanish period. Its emergence was halted when the revolution broke. When Americans came, Magalang entered its new phase of agricultural prosperity. 

Sources: Anuario del Comercio de la Industria años de 1886, 1893 y 1896

Photograph provided by the late Ariel H. Lacson (2013)